top of page

Interview With An Illustrator - Veronica Rooke

Veronica has been called a wacky artist. And she’s happy with that. Based in Perth, she has drawn everything from loving families to robots, fairies, vegetables, animals and farting dragons (yes I said farting). She’s carved out a long career in illustration, comics, cartoons, graphic design, photography, book covers... oh just lots!

Why do you illustrate?

I simply love drawing and am very lucky to have made a career from it. Projects can be a mix of needs. When an author presents a manuscript, my aim is to weave the drawings around their story. Other clients need artwork to grab the viewer/customer.

What would you most like people to know about your work?

My work is varied. I can create any style for an author. I work quickly too, but still focus on detail. The comic serial work taught me that children-notice-EVERYTHING!

What do people like about your work?

The humour I put into my illustrations. And I try to give depth to drawings so they ‘pop’ from the page.

What do you enjoy doing aside from illustrating?

I like jogging. But I can say that because I’m not doing it right now. Jogging is hard! And I only do it so I can eat cupcakes.

Anything else people might find interesting?

In a past job I dressed up in a costume as an orphaned alien. It helped craft my sense of humour. Imagine it... It’s the middle of summer... you’re running around in a furry, padded suite with children... sweat dripping from every part of you. You HAVE to laugh!

I run cartoon workshops for schools and libraries. I’m also commissioned to illustrate people’s picture books, t-shirts and logos. But I don’t dress up in costumes anymore!

How do people go about contacting you?

I can be contacted through my facebook page that has loads of cartoons that are free to share...If you find them funny. Or my website: fishbitten.com.au

Veronica has worked on over 30 book covers, 6 picture books, 2 comic serials... “and a partridge in a - sorry, got carried away there!”

Here's a list of just some of her work:

Robot School (published in The School magazine)​​

Magic Daze (published in The School magazine)

Jimbo! Don’t go!

Who Dresses God?

Contact Veronica

GALLERY

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page