top of page

Fergus The Farting Dragon

Fergus The Farting Dragon is a giggle-icious story that celebrates difference, written by Monique Mulligan and Illustrated by Veronica Rooke.

Fergus the Farting Dragon is a funny story which utilises lots of fart words which I think will appeal to children as they giggle their way through the story.

But it also has the key messages of embracing one’s differences and figuring out a way to make them work for you in the end...”

– Buzz Words

Fergus is different to other dragons, and when people make fun of him, he has an ear-splitting, eye-watering, toe-curling, stink-making response. He farts!

“Fergus is a friendly, but farty, dragon who also has a fierce side, which pops off when he is made fun of by the other dragons. He definitely doesn’t like being the butt of others’ jokes! He also has a strong sense of justice and community, and will seize the opportunity to put the wind up someone who’s doing the wrong thing.”

– The Author

(who gets extra points for the puns)

When a cheeky knight in a fire-proof suit steals a precious dragon egg, the other dragons are at a loss. It's left to Fergus to get the egg back from the thieving knight.

So what made Monique write about a flatulent dragon?

“Firstly, a forbidden word: Fart. I was never allowed to say growing up but my sons said it all the time, usually accompanied by hysterical laughter.

Secondly, my sons. When I first wrote drafts for this around 2005 – it was originally going to be a chapter book – my sons were fascinated by dragon books almost as much as fart humour (and farts themselves). So, even though I grew up not being allowed to say that F word (as well as the other one), I found myself writing a book about a dragon who couldn’t breathe fire but could arguably do something even better.”

Hear what kids have to say about Fergus here.

“Children and adults alike will crack up into giggles and snickers as Fergus farts his way to recognition in this charmingly vulgar story. Mulligan uses rhyme to introduce words such as ‘sulphurous’, ‘scrawny’, ‘mammoth’, and ‘corpse-like,’ partnering [Veronica] Rooke’s fittingly bold, cartoon-like illustrations. This book will stimulate all sorts of important discussion, while reminding us not to take life too seriously.”

- Writing WA

Mulligan writes across a number of genres. “I have written three children’s books, but my passion is writing for adults. I’m currently working on the second draft of a coming of age novel that explores the impact of domestic violence.

My two novels, which are yet to be published, are darker – they explore the deeper emotions and the more challenging circumstances humans face. And yet, I always try to inject a little humour, just to lighten things up a little.”

​​This former journalist and news editor is a publisher and the founder of the Stories on Stage programme in Perth. Along with cooking up a storm in the kitchen, she combines part-time work at an arts centre with being editorial director of Serenity Press.

“I can’t imagine not writing. It’s always been part of who I am. It’s part of my need to live creatively, a need that comes from deep within, and flows through words, photography, drawing mandalas and more. And I’ve always written, in one way or another.”

Despite seemingly giving Wonder Woman a run for her money, Monique has faced (and overcome) the same challenges as many creatives.

“It took me years to be the writer I wanted to be. To write creatively and to share my writing with others... It took great effort to stop letting self-doubt and perfectionism drown my dreams. Outside I came across as confident, assured and strong; inside, I was holding myself back, scared of showing my most vulnerable self. I was mired in the need for approval and perfectionism and it was sucking me down into the quicksand of lost dreams.”

If you are interested in Monique’s services as an editor, click here.

GALLERY

More from Monique Mulligan

@MoniqueMulligan

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page