top of page

Son of The Sixth

"In a land where a sixth child carries penalty of death, a young woman, alongside two brothers, set out to escape the tyranny of those in power."

Son of the Sixth is a full force YA / adult fantasy by Perth based author, Richard Ellicott.

“[This] gripping fantasy novel is set in a world where sixth children hold special powers, and those unsanctioned are hunted and executed by the tyrannical rulers of the land. Following three generations of the same family, the main characters flee in a quest for safety only to discover even greater evil and danger. With well-drawn characters and an intriguing and suspenseful story line, this is a great holiday read – and one which young adults will also enjoy.”

- Writing WA

The trio are drawn to the untamed south, a land of beauty and danger, with both a bright future and a past soaked in the blood of those that came before them. There they unwittingly encounter an ancient evil that has lurked there for centuries; a remnant of a war fought long ago, a solitary creature twisted by darkness, who seeks to bend their lives to his will. Their only hope is a young orphan boy, whose very heritage may be the key to their salvation, but he has troubles of his own...

Why did Richard write Son of the Sixth?

“My friend Bruce Hanwright (Recently deceased), was my inspiration. I looked up to him when I was at school, he was a righteous dude, a guy who did what he said he would do. He had no fear.

At an early age I fell into a group of fantastic guys who loved to play Dungeons and Dragons. It was there, in a tin shed at the back of the Hanwright family home, that Corlith the Weak was born, the son of the sixth.

I had the story in my head since I was 15 (I am now 47), and I finally had the chance to get it on paper.

I once read a fantasy book, which had 14 characters in the first chapter. After my brain exploded, I stopped. [Son of the Sixth is for] people who want to feel! Folks who like a mystery, folks who like their books wrapped up in a bow, rather than wondering about what they just read.

Women love it! Guys too, but for some reason, the story resonates more with women. I have no idea why. Whether I knew it or not, the book seems to be about family, friendship and conservation! I had no idea where it was heading. Most folks have a full heart after reading. They like the characters. They like the ending. And I hope they like the middle.”

Here’s what some readers had to say:

“Brilliant read. Captivating from start to finish, with so much content for the imagination. Suspenseful, horrific and lovely, I wholeheartedly commend the author on blending so many characters, stories and timelines into a well flowing, thought provoking, unforgettable book.”

“A gripping, brilliantly written fantasy story. The use and spectrum of vocabulary are clever, adding greater depth to the narrative. I dearly hope we hear more from this talented author in the future. Awesome read.”

“I loved this book. The twists, the turns, the detailed descriptions - all brilliant. The story is engaging. Each night I would look forward to reading it. This is an epic tale of family, breaking traditions and life. You have to read it!!”

Catch Richard and Son of the Sixth at Balingup Medieval Festival in August 2018!

More from Richard Ellicott

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page